July 28, 2005

I had my 4-month pediatrician appointment today. You all are not going to believe this, but I am *on* the charts for 4 month-olds now! As though I wasn’t born 3 months early! But of course, although it is fun to compare me to other “regular” 4 month olds, it is not the correct chart to use! When looking at the 28-week gestational age *preemie* chart (which is the correct chart to use) I score in the top quartile for weight and in the top tenth for head circumference (!).

My pediatrician is so pleased! She says that developmentally I should be regarded as a 1 month old (in terms of motor skills, eating, sleeping, etc.), but that cognitively I am ahead; I seem to be closer to 2 months. I believe it, my mommy read some good books on helping me be a smart and happy baby and she does lots of fun excercises with me that help develop me cognitively.

This fall I will get Synergis shots during the RSV season… these are $1,000 *each* and I get one or two every month… woa. But it will keep me healthy while my ex-preemie immune system gets caught up, and will save my health insurance company from paying hospital bills (I have to be hospitalized if I catch RSV before I turn 2). My mommy’s jaw dropped when the doc mentioned the cost of these, but luckily my daddy’s health insurance will cover this.

I do not have to be on special preemie formula anymore – I can have regular formula and of course breast milk (donated by my God mother Jill, my mommy’s sister-in-law also named Jill, and my mommy’s own, made specially for me). My mommy has been a little lazy recently and has been giving me the bottle somewhat more than breast feeding me, so I try to get fussy in the evenings so that my mommy will breast feed me, that really calms me down and I love that closeness! My mommy needs a kick in the butt to do more breast feeding, can somebody please do that for me?

This weekend I am going to a pool party in Northern Virginia. I will see my whole family on my mommy’s side (I see my daddy’s family every day). I am just starting to coo, babble, and giggle on top of my huge grins; my family will really enjoy my new abilities!

Leave a Reply

