May 13, 2005

Today I am 6 weeks 6 days old, and I gained over 2 ounces last night, so I now weigh a whopping 4 lbs 6 oz… can you believe how big I am getting!?! Mommy is very, very, very excited: maybe, just maybe I can begin thinking about discharge in about 7-10 days… doctor Elrod said no promises, but maybe on the weekend, a week from now. Wow, that is so soon! I’ll have been here for 2 months, my whole life so far. šŸ™‚ Since yesterday I have been maintaining my own body temperature… do you remember how I’ve tried to do that 3 times already? Well, I do believe that this time I can do it! I am doing great so far… I had a “vagal” yesterday while I was trying to do a b.m., but Dr. Elrod is not holding that against me because you grown-ups do that too (!), so according to the chart I am one week without having a bradycardia or apnea “spell” or episode. That leaves only one thing for me to work on: nippling around the clock. I am still not quite there yet, but give me this week, with mommy’s patience and my hard work I think I can do it! šŸ™‚

4 Responses to “”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    we know you can do it baby Ava………way to go!!!!

  2. Grandma Connie Says:

    I’m counting the days until you can come home!!!!!

    Love you,
    Grandma Connie

  3. Nana Patrice Says:

    Our prayers are backing you up, little one! We know you are anxious to get out of the hospital and begin the next stage of your life with your Mommy and Daddy(getting thoroughly spoiled :)!
    love, Nana

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Barbie,Tad and precious AVA… I got your link from your mom posting on the newbury website. I am new there but was somehow lead to read the post by your mom about Ava being born. I came to the smith angels site and started from the beginning. I would go to bed at night crying, praying, rejoicing, at all the Lord has accomplished in your lives especially AVA’s. She is truly a gift from God and I wish you all the best. Thank you for being such a light to others, God has chosen you to be AVA’s mom because he knows you will only enhance the life AVA has been given. May AVA walk daily in the knowledge and the will of the Lord. I know that through this birth of AVA the LORD has been able to prove that he is still God through the miracles he has performed. TO GOD BE THE GLORY!
    Love in Christ,
    Cathy


Leave a Reply

